the is not clear to me whether water of maddening have the right to be supplied as a thrown weapon come its complete effect, or only to the impact of unholy water.

You are watching: Waters of lamashtu

The suggest of contention in ~ my table was this sentence:

In addition, any creature that is anointed v or drink this liquid must attempt a Fortitude save (drinking the water that maddening is specifically effective—a biology that drink the liquid takes a –4 punish on its save to stand up to its effects). Success reasons the biology to end up being violently ill, vomit up the fluid, and also become sickened for 1d4 rounds.

Point being that to it is in hit by the water might not be the same regarding be anointed and that the recommendation in spell description to that is thrown weapon dosage could only be to the unholy water use of it.


pathfinder-1e spells
re-superstructure
boost this question
monitor
edited Oct 3 "18 at 10:33
*

Sdjz
35.3k1414 yellow badges159159 silver- badges229229 bronze title
asked Oct 3 "18 at 10:29
*

EwanStoutEwanStout
8344 bronze title
\$\endgroup\$
add a comment |

1 prize 1


energetic oldest Votes
7
\$\begingroup\$
Using the assignment water of maddeningThe order water of maddening (or, as initially presented at least three times—most newly in Book of the Damned (2017)—, water of Lamashtu) permits the caster to take it a standard activity wiggling fingers, chanting nonsense, and also disposing the 250 gp of powdered amber to create at approximately close range a number of flasks that this "foul secretion" equal to the caster"s caster level halved. (This is as per the spell"s Effect entry.) every flask the order creates climate exists forevermore nonmagically (as the spell"s a conjuration (creation) spell v a duration of instantaneous), and each flask additionally functions as a flask the unholy water, this latter detail making each flask a splash weapon.

(I restate this all due to the fact that a reader who reads only the spell"s description might confuse the water that maddening spell with the create water order (the effect of which, for example, can be dumped appropriate onto some on-fire fool), yet the water of maddening order isn"t really comparable to that: it creates both that foul secretion and the flask it"s in!)

Using a flask the water of maddening

The spell"s description says that "ny creature that is anointed v or drinks this fluid" might be affected by it. The word anointed has actually no mechanically Pathfinder-specific definition, but, in real life—where a reader need to go when the game is the no help—, is really precise, and its common usage doesn"t usually average hucking a substance that"s still in a flask at a dude. (Such a definition, though, would certainly make even much more awesome Psalm 23.) Nonetheless, this is Lamashtu we"re talking about, and that god could think it"s hilarious to "anoint" who in together a fashion.

See more:
The Pizza Math Problems - The Pi Day Pizza Problem

Thus this reader deserve to imagine a GM judgment whatever way he wants. The is, one GM may see the flasks as hideously unbalanced splash weapons and have the flasks work mostly like flasks of unholy water, ruling that anointing someone method taking a minute or so come smear ceremonially the materials on a helpless or willing creature"s body or something. Another GM may see no troubles with the flasks and also rule the anointing foes by throwing flasks of water that maddening at them is entirely legit.

(Paizo threads indigenous 2011 and also 2013 type of take it it because that granted that a flask that water of maddening"s complete efficacy is realized as soon as a flask is provided as a splash weapon, but an additional thread indigenous 2014 disagrees. There"s no official ruling top top this facet of the spell the I can find— creative director James Jacobs, for example, discusses the assignment (and, by extension, the effects of other deity-specific spells) in a thread native 2011, however he doesn"t attend to the anoint issue.)

Honestly, native a worldbuilding perspective, this GM find it slightly overpowered if a flask of water of maddening have the right to be used for its full result as a splash weapon. If the spell has actually a 250 gp material component, its spreading time that 1 traditional action method during a lull in an adventure a caster might create many, numerous flasks for totally free via the assignment blood money. This renders flasks of water the maddening essentially cost-free for NPCs because of this making such flasks the go-to weapon for, for example, city guards who will uncover their work much much easier if lock can loose en masse ranged touch attacks that either sicken a lawbreaker on a successful conserve or transaction 1d6 points of Strength and also Dexterity damage to a lawbreaker top top a failure save!

(For comparison, 1d6 Str and Dex ability damage is exceptional to many poisons. And, return the water that maddening can"t mitigate a creature"s mrs or Dex listed below 1, since the conserve DC against the water is arbitrarily on the spell"s caster, the water"s save DC will likely be greater than the DCs of most poisons.)

That said, this GM would separation the difference. A creature that has in hand a flask of divine water have the right to take a standard activity that doesn"t provoke strikes of possibility to splash the contents of that flask top top an surrounding foe (usually one that"s incorporeal due to the fact that holy water flasks don"t break versus incorporeal creatures). With such rules in mind, this GM finds that procedure sufficiently close to "combat anointing." His house dominion would be something prefer An attacker wielding a flask of water of maddening can take it a standard action to make a melee touch strike to anoint a creature. Success method that the creature suffers the full result of the water of maddening. (This method the town guards need to at least get close come the lawbreakers!)